The environment and forest programme was developed by SAILD in the context of the need for better management of forest resources and preservation of the environment.

Mission

The programme works for the management of natural resources in general and forestry in particular for the socio-economic well-being of the population and the promotion of a more responsible management of the environment.

Strategy

The programme strategy has two levels.

At the level of decision-makers, it consists of acting on decision-making bodies through advocacy and lobbying so as to encourage the establishment of policies that are favourable to a better consideration of the socio-cultural rights of local and indigenous populations and of environmental issues.

At the level of implementation, it consists of acting on the actors implementing the policies by accompanying, monitoring and denouncing acts contrary to the policies. This action could lead to amendments to existing policies in this area.

Areas of intervention

Our interventions focus on all the fields of activities likely to impact the socio-environmental and economic balance of the forest, but also any activity whose impact on the local, national, regional and global environment is undeniable. Specifically, we intervene in :
- Conducting environmental and social impact studies and audits;
- Forestry (industrial forestry, forest management, etc.) and the current major environmental and forestry issues (REDD+, FLEGT, forest certification, PSFE, etc.);
- Forest governance ;
- Land issues ;
- mines.

Projects/Actions

Le programme environnement et forêt a été développé par le SAILD dans le cadre de la nécessité liée à une meilleure gestion des ressources forestières et la préservation de l’environnement.

Mission

Le programme oeuvre pour une gestion des ressources naturelles en général et forestière en particulier au service du bien-être socio économique des populations et la promotion d’une gestion plus responsable de l’environnement.

Stratégie

La stratégie du programme se décline à deux niveaux.

Au niveau des décideurs, elle consiste à agir sur les instances décisionnelles par le plaidoyer et le lobbying de manière à inciter la mise sur pied des politiques favorables à une meilleur prise en compte des droits socioculturels des populations locales et autochtones et des enjeux environnementaux.

Au niveau de l’implémentation, il s’agit d’agir sur les acteurs d’implémentation des politiques par des actions d’accompagnement, de surveillance et de dénonciation des actes contraires aux prescriptions des politiques. Cette action pourrait déboucher à des amendements des politiques existantes en la matière.

Domaines d’intervention

Nos interventions touchent tous les domaines d’activités susceptibles d’impacter l’équilibre socio environnemental et économique forestier, mais aussi toute activité dont l’impact sur l’environnement local, national, régional et mondial est indéniable. De manière spécifique nous interviendrons dans :
–    La réalisation des études d’impacts et audits environnementaux et sociaux ;
–    La foresterie (exploitation industrielle des forêts, aménagement forestier, etc.) et les grandes thématiques environnementales et forestières de l’heure (REDD+, FLEGT, certification forestière, PSFE, etc.) ;
–    La gouvernance forestière ;
–    Le foncier ;
–    Les mines.

Projets/Actions