The programme is intended to be a tool for strengthening the farming movement in its associative and functional life. The farming movement is a political, economic and social force that is positioning itself as a player on the social scene. It must be given multiform support to achieve its social project.

Missions

-Strengthening the institutional autonomy of farmers' organisations

-Promoting democratic life in farmers' organisations

-Strengthening the social foundations of organisational buildings

-To support and sustain farmers' umbrella organisations in their trade union and political role

-Strengthen the capacities of farmers' organisations to define, guide and negotiate development strategies

-Promoting gender mainstreaming in farmers' organisations

-Support and assist farmers' organisations in setting up effective communication systems

-Inspire and strengthen a national and sub-regional farmers' movement

Strategic options 

-An associative approach based on individual membership: it is an organisation in which each member is individually committed with duties and rights. He is now known and clearly identified individually.

-Area approach: As FOs can occupy larger areas than our intervention areas, SAILD will support FOs to negotiate with other stakeholders. In addition, we can now only support areas with at least 100 members. However, SAILD will support in some specific cases FOs to raise awareness to achieve this goal.

-Organisation around general activities or services: In the associative approach based on individual membership, the functions of marketing, input supply, activity financing system, training and communication are those around which the associative dimension, and therefore the group dynamic, is strengthened. Since these activities are beneficial to members collectively and individually, they constitute a strong bond between members and should therefore be the first activities of the association once it is created.

Projects/Actions

Le programme se veut un outil de renforcement du mouvement paysan dans sa vie associative et fonctionnelle. Le mouvement paysan est une force politique, économique et sociale qui se positionne comme acteur sur l’échiquier social. Il faut lui donner des appuis multiformes pour réaliser son projet de société.

Missions

-Renforcer l’autonomie institutionnelle des organisations paysannes

-Promouvoir la vie démocratique dans les organisations paysannes

-Consolider les bases sociales des édifices organisationnels

-Appuyer et soutenir les organisations paysannes faitières dans leur rôle syndical et politique

-Renforcer les capacités des organisations paysannes à définir, orienter et négocier des stratégies de développement

-Promouvoir l’intégration du genre dans les organisations paysannes

-Appuyer et soutenir les organisations paysannes dans la mise en place de systèmes de communication performants

-Insuffler et renforcer un mouvement paysan national et sous-régional

Options stratégiques 

-Approche associative basée sur l’adhésion individuelle: elle se veut une organisation dans laquelle chaque membre est engagé de manière individuelle en devoirs et en droits. Celui-ci est désormais connu et clairement identifié individuellement.

-Approche zone: Etant donné que les OP peuvent occuper des espaces plus importants que nos zones d’intervention, le SAILD appuiera les OP à négocier avec d’autres intervenants. Par ailleurs, l’on ne pourra désormais appuyer que des zones ayant au minimum 100 membres. Le SAILD cependant appuiera dans certains cas précis les OP à sensibiliser pour atteindre cet objectif.

-Organisation autour des activités générales ou services: Dans l’approche associative basée sur l’adhésion individuelle, les fonctions de commercialisation, d’approvisionnement en intrants, de système de financement des activités, de formation, de communication sont celles autour desquelles se renforce la dimension associative, donc la dynamique de groupe. Du fait que ces activités soient bénéfiques aux membres collectivement et individuellement, elles constituent un liant fort entre les membres et par conséquent doivent être les premières activités de l’association une fois créée.

Projets/Actions